VIETNAM: Hochiminh City

Hey guys!

I’m finally back after a good two months. I recently went to Vietnam then got back and had my board exams. I’m done now at last and I cant wait to get back into the blog posting mood! And an insane trip to Vietnam just means super amazing blogs in the coming weeks! I’m so excited to tell you guys about my trip and I hope you enjoy reading it as well 😀

Ho-chi-minh City (the capital of Vietnam) was our first stop. At a first glance, that is the second I stepped out of the airport it gave me the Mumbai Vibe for some reason. That quickly changed the minute we got into the car and started moving. It’s a massive city with a population of 10 million, but I doubt you’re interested in the facts! The roads are incredibly wide and the streets are spotlessly clean! As for the weather – hot, but very bearable (I mean at least for those of us from Mumbai). Now that I’ve covered the basic details, let’s get into the fun stuff!

We had a personal tour guide which was quite necessary as almost NO ONE speaks English! Our tour guide was one hilarious lady! Very sweet as were all the Vietnamese people we came in contact with, but she was so crazy! By the end of our trip we got pretty annoyed with her! Hahaha…

On to the sightseeing :

We visited the Ben Thanh Market which is the main market in China Town. It’s  full of street vendors selling the local Vietnamese food, handicrafts and items for daily use. It’s a wholesale market so they don’t really cater to individual buyers. I did however buy myself a cap. In fact, it’s very much like our Crawford Market (an extremely clean version that is) .

9732e8b7-85d6-4f26-bed2-ac125dd0ff8b

We visited the Remnants Museum, which exhibits photographs,  machinery and weapons that depicts the harsh realities of the war. It was deeply moving reading the facts and kind of  in a way reliving their trials and suffering.

4f9044e9-7542-4598-8a4c-bcb5a5071b02f3c0a677-14e7-4d50-903e-e39f7ed5421e

Our visit to the Reunification Hall was honestly not the most exciting. Here, was where all their formal meetings were held, their private bedrooms and war rooms that are 10 meters underground. Pretty cool!

20165855-4a79-41c6-aef4-6f416b75c136
Underground Passage leading to the lake.

Some other sites that I wasn’t too intrigued by was the General Post Office,  The City Hall and the Opera House.

As for the shopping in Hochiminh it was very disappointing… Nothing like everyone says about Vietnam shopping , at least I didn’t think so – not in Hochiminh at least. And since this was the first place we came to I was getting a bit worried of not getting anything 😛 (Typical first world problems, I know) even though I don’t live in a first world country, LOL! One of the most high end shopping places in Vietnam is the Vincom Centre with a huge selection of some of the top international brands in clothes, electronics and accessories and of course a massive food court!

We left for Hanoi on Sunday afternoon after hearing mass at the Notre Dame Cathedral. The structure is gorgeous and the inside is equally impressive, mass was so lovely (it was in English) and we met the sweetest old lady outside the church selling statues and rosaries. She was just so full of love and happiness – truly an inspiration to us all. The perfect end to the first leg of our journey.

 

I hope you enjoyed this post, I know there’s a lot of names and places I’ve visited but I thought this would be super helpful if you’re planning a trip to Vietnam. I would definitely recommend it. Also do share this with friends, family or anyone who is planning a trip. I love you all and thanks for sticking till the end.

Picture Credits:André Fernandes. Instagram: @andrefernandes1994

Xoxo ❤

 

8 thoughts on “VIETNAM: Hochiminh City

  1. Love the local places you visited …. Beautiful place !!! Thank u for sharing ….. Felt like a short tour …
    Can’t wait to go to Vietnam !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

